What Matters?

https://i0.wp.com/quotes-lover.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Time-has-a-wonderful-way-of-showing-us-what-really-matters.jpg

.
”Consult your memory to know what matters most in your life.”
Amit Kalantri

There have been times where I am completely overwhelmed, burdened by my different projects and responsibilities – and frustrated because so many of them not only stressed me, but do not really matter to me.

Feeling overwhelmed is directly related to a sense of control. As soon as we feel we are losing control over our time, relationships and life, our responsibilities feel like burdens piling up on our shoulders. we then feel anxious we can not do everything or feel resentful about the expectations people have for us.

In order to regain a sense of control we have to review the choices that led to the overwhelm. Make a list of everything you feel you are responsible for. Include your work projects, your to-do list at home, and the outcomes you are expected to create in your professional, family and social life.

Rather than chasing 3 or 4 goals and making very little progress on them, place all of your energy on what really matters. Focus. Not only will you reduce some of the stress associated with trying to juggle too many tasks, you will be much more successful.

We all know deep down there are different things that drive us – hobbies that excite us, passions that we wish we had more time to explore, people we would like to spend more time with. I believe that identifying, focusing on, and spending time on what matters to us, is vital.

At times when I am rushed off my feet and stressing over what to prioritise I remember the words of Zig Ziglar ”spend time with those you love. One of these days you will say either, “I wish I had,” or “I’m glad I did.”

“Perspective is as simple as answering this question: If I had 5 months to live would I experience this problem differently?”
Shannon L. Alder

Leave a Reply

