Self Acknowledgement

look-to-someone

 

.
‘To say ‘well done’ to any bit of good work is to take hold of the powers which have made the effort and strengthen them beyond our knowledge. ‘
Phillip Brooks

.
All too often, we can be our own toughest crtitic. I have taken all sorts of steps towards my goals, some of them required summing up courage and facing fears of judgment and failure. Yet. sometimes I was not satisfied with my accomplishments, because I had not seen any external results.

.
This is something we all have a tendency to do. We do not think ‘accomplishment’ unless we see external results. And we tend to dismiss the seemingly small actions we take, even though they represent a big step internally, whether facing a fear or shifting a mindset.

.
When we rely on external approval and appreciation as the only form of acknowledgement and recognition, we give up the power of deciding when we feel accomplished. There is nothing wrong with external approval and appreciation, but do you really need it in order to feel accomplished and worthy?

.
I now remind myself to look behind me at the gap I have closed, before I look at the gap ahead that is still open. Acknowledging how far I have come, before focusing on what I need to do next.

.

The sacred process of self acknowledgment is the act of consciously and deliberately celebrating the best in yourself. Today, focus on your gains and improvements, as you become a better you…..

.
‘Enjoy your successes no matter how big or small they are. When you reach your goal you need to step back and pat yourself on the back – You did it!’
Catherine Pulsifer

One thought on “Self Acknowledgement

Leave a Reply

