Chill Time

image-41
“It’s a good idea always to do something relaxing prior to making an important decision in your life.”
Paulo Coelho

.
When I was a child, I loved the summer. I loved not having to go to school, I loved staying up late and sleeping in and reading. I loved hanging out with friends, but mostly I loved having to doing nothing.

.
As an adult, I still love the summer. I love the longer days, I love the abundance of in-season fruits and vegetables. Most of all, I love how everything appears to be more leisurely and relaxed under the summer sun.

.
We frown upon laziness. We are a culture of go-getters, of doing and accomplishing and getting things done and crossing items off of our ‘to-do lists’.

.
If you find yourself longing for a little more leisure and relaxation, to be deliberately lazy, go for it – it is good for you.

.
Taking a break in the seemingly never-ending cycle of activities gives you a chance to stop, take a deep breath and re-examine the ‘why‘ behind your activities. It provides you with an opportunity to choose again how you want to allocate and spend your time.

.
Creating space and time is vital. Plan ‘chill time’ into your schedule. By deliberating choosing to do nothing, you are creating space in your life for new possibilities.

.
Schedule time today to relax and chill down….. the benefits are numerous, like boosting your immune system and raising your energy levels.

.
”Sunday is my day. Sometimes I think we get caught up in the hectic happenings of the weeks and months and we forget to take time out to relax. So one Sunday morning I decided to do things differently – now it’s gotten to be a sort of ritual! This is what I do: at around 8:30 am I pull myself from my warm cocoon, fluff up the pillows and blankets and put some classical music on the stereo. Then I’m off to the kitchen, where I very calmly (so as not to wake myself up too much!) prepare my breakfast, something extra nice – last week I had fresh pineapple slices wrapped in bacon and broiled, a warm croissant, hot chocolate with marshmallows and orange juice. I put it all on a tray with a cloth napkin, my book-of-the-moment and the “Travel” section of the Boston Globe and take it back to bed with me. There I spend the next two hours reading, eating and dreaming while the snowflakes swirl through the treetops outside my bedroom window. The inspiring music of Back or Vivaldi adds an exquisite elegance to the otherwise unruly scene, and I am in heaven. I found time to get in touch with myself and my life and i think this just might be a necessity! Please try it for yourself, and someone you love.”
Susan Branch

One thought on “Chill Time

Leave a Reply

